Friday, December 9, 2011

 Missouri H.S. Honors Announced

The 2011 Boys All-State and All-Kansas City teams for Missouri high school soccer players were announced and numerous Sporting Kansas City Juniors received marks of respect.

Rockhust senior midfielder Derek Schrick earned several honors, the most prestigious being Missouri State Player of the Year. Schrick was also named First Team All-State, Kansas-City Co-Player of the Year, and first team All-Kansas City. Schrick was a driving force in Rockhurst’s final team ranking in 2011 as No. 4 in the state, with an overall record of 22-4-1.

Jacole Turner was awarded Missouri State Goalkeeper of the Year, Kansas-City Goalkeeper of the Year, First Team All-State and First Team All-Kansas City. Turner led Lee’s Summit North to a 19-4 record earning them the No. 7 spot in the final state rankings for 2011.

Shane Woods, a senior forward at Kearney, also earned First Team All-State honors as well as All-Kansas City Offensive Player of the Year and All-Kansas City First Team honors.

Julian Ramirez rounds out the First Team All-State selections and is the only player from the Sporting Kansas City Juniors U16 squad to earn the impressive tribute. Ramirez, a Blue Springs H.S. defender, also earned First Team All-Kansas City.

Sophomore midfielder Joey Piatczyc was selected as Second Team All-State and All-Kansas City while junior forward Darby Cronin received Honorable Mention All-State and Second Team All-Kansas City.

Cameron Wallace joins Piatczyc and Cronin as Second-Team All-Kansas City and Alec Van Wormer, Erik Palmer-Brown, Jake Wood, Pier Cassiraghi, and David Isaacks obtained Honorable Mention All-Kansas City.

Van Wormer, a sophomore defender, guided Lee’s Summit West to a 24-8 record to garner a No. 5 ranking amongst all teams in the state of Missouri. Meanwhile, Palmer-Brown becomes the lone freshman amid the Sporting Kansas City Juniors to earn the accolade.

No comments: